top of page


         The Chennai Metro is a rapid transit system serving the city of Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India. The system commenced service in 2015 after partially opening the first phase of the project. The network consists of two colour-coded lines covering a length of 45 kilometers. It is the third-largest metro system in India after Delhi Metro and Hyderabad Metro.


        The Chennai Metro Rail Limited (CMRL), a joint venture between Government of India and the Government of Tamil Nadu built and operates the Chennai Metro. The system has a mix of underground and elevated stations and uses standard gauge. The services operate daily between 4:30 and 23:00 with a varying frequency of 10 to 20 minutes. As of March 2019, about 90,000 people use the service on a daily basis. There are 42 trains with four coaches each, making a total of 168 coaches, operating in the first phase.

The system has also planned to take over the existing Chennai Mass Rapid Transit System by 2021, which would be upgraded to operate using the rolling stock of the Chennai Metro. CMRL was recognized by the International Association of Public Transport in 2011.


        Construction began on June 2009 and the first stretch, covering seven stations from Koyambedu to Alandur over a distance of 10 kilometers (6.2 mi), began operation on 29 June 2015. As of February 2019, Chennai Central to St. Thomas Mount on the Greenline and Washermanpet to Chennai International Airport on Blueline are commercially operational which brings the total operational network over 45 km (28 mi) making it the third-largest metro system in India, after the Delhi metro and Hyderabad metro (56.5 km (35.1 mi))

bottom of page